Iowa head coach Lisa Bluder previews the national championship game
Iowa head coach Lisa Bluder previews the national championship game

Lisa Bluder and Caitlin Clark named Naismith Award semifinalists


This morning, the Atlanta Tipoff Club released the semifinalist lists for the Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s Coach of the Year and the Naismith Women’s Player of the Year. Coming off a Big Ten Tournament Championship last weekend, the Hawkeyes were represented on both lists.

Head Coach Lisa Bluder was named to the Coach of the Year semifinalist list after leading the Hawkeyes to a 26-6 record, a second place finish in the Big Ten and a Big Ten Tournament Title. She won the award back in 2019 when the Hawkeyes went 29-7, won the Big Ten Tournament Title and made the Elite Eight. Bluder has coached Iowa to five wins against AP Top 10 teams this season(at the time of the game), which leads the country. The Hawkeyes 15 wins in Big Ten play this season is the most during her tenure.

Over her time at Iowa, the Hawkeyes have advanced to the NCAA Tournament 17 times, in 23 seasons. She is all-time winningest coach in program history and has guided the Hawkeyes to 20+ victories in seven straight seasons. Bluder has also coached five of the last Big Ten Player of the Year award winners.

Naismith Coach of the Year Semifinalists

  • Lisa Bluder (Iowa), Teri Moren (Indiana), Kenny Brooks (VTech), Denise Dillon (Villanova), Niele Ivey (Notre Dame), Kim Mulkey (LSU), Lynne Roberts (Utah), Vic Shaefer (Texas), Dawn Staley (S Carolina), Joe Tartamella (St Johns)

Maryland head coach Brenda Frese and Illinois head coach Shauna Green were not recognized, despite putting together great seasons with their respective teams. 2022 winner. The four finalists for the award will be announced on Monday, March 20th. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, March 29th at the Women’s Final Four.

Caitlin Clark was named one of the ten semifinalists for the Naismith Player of the Year award. She was a finalist for the award last year, but lost out to Aliyah Boston of South Carolina. This season, Clark is averaging 27.0 points, 7.5 rebounds and 8.3 assists per game. Caitlin accounts for 52% of Iowa’s offensive output in points and assists. She has registered 25+ points, 5+ rebounds and 5+ assists in 16 games this season and 38 times in her career. That is good for the most in NCAA women’s basketball history.

Clark won the Big Ten Player of the Year for the second straight season earlier this month and then followed it up with a really good weekend in the Big Ten Tournament. She recorded the first ever triple-double in Big Ten Championship history with 30 points, ten rebounds and 17 assists in the Hawkeyes 105-72 win over Ohio State. She was named the Big Ten Tournament Most Outstanding Player for the second straight season. Caitlin is just the third player to be a two-time winner of the award.

Naismith Player of the Year Semifinalists

  • Caitlin Clark (Iowa), Mackenzie Holmes (Indiana), Aliyah Boston (S Carolina), Cameron Brink (Stanford), Aaliyah Edwards (UConn), Ashley Joens (Iowa State), Elizabeth Kitley (VTech), Alissa Pili (Utah), Angel Reese (Iowa), Maddy Siegrist (Villanova)

The four finalists will be announced on Tuesday, March 21st. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, March 29th at the Women’s Final Four.

You are watching: Lisa Bluder and Caitlin Clark named Naismith Award semifinalists. Info created by GBee English Center selection and synthesis along with other related topics.